Early on, it was clear to me that if I was going to build a successful business, it was going to be about building relationships. I figured out that relationships were built in business on the golf course, and that’s when golf started becoming such an important part of my culture, even though I had never golfed before. I had never been an athlete.

I never played anything, not even miniature golf. But I started with lessons at a local driving range with a golf pro. Then I started to play in these golf outings and saw the kind of relationship-building that it allowed me to do. I started to get competitive, and I took more lessons. I was introduced to an L.P.G.A. pro, and she started giving me lessons and I got better. The next thing I knew, I said: “You know what? I need to bring her in to teach my management team because I can’t be the only one out playing golf with people. First of all, I’ve got a lot to do, and I need other people to build that skill set.” So it became part of our culture that my management team took up golf.

via Annette Catino of QualCare, on Building Business Ties – NYTimes.com.

Leave a Reply

